MASTA – Multi-agent Systems: Theory and Applications

Since 1993, the field of Multi-Agent Systems (MAS) has been present in all EPIA Conferences, either as individual tracks or as autonomous workshops. Focusing on a fundamental subject of Artificial Intelligence, the 7th edition of Multi-Agent Systems: Theory and Applications – MASTA’13 Thematic Track, will be a forum for presenting and discussing the most recent and innovative work on MAS. Departing, from the end of the 1980’s, from the two main branches of Decentralized Artificial Intelligence and Distributed Problem Solving, research on MAS has developed in areas of increasing specialization and autonomy as diverse as agent theories and architectures, cognitive modelling, coordination, negotiation and argumentation, social organization and social simulation, swarm intelligence, and agent-oriented programming. Agent technology has been used to solve real-world problems in a range of industrial and commercial applications, including manufacturing, supply chain management, process control, telecommunications, air traffic control, transportation systems, and business process management.

Aims and Scope

Research on MAS has a vigorous, exciting tradition and has led to important theories and systems. However, new trends and concerns are still emerging and form the basis of current and future research. This thematic track is intended to provide a discussion forum on the most recent and innovative work in all areas of MAS.
The unifying focus of the thematic track will be on methodological aspects. Both theoretical and practical research should be situated in the context of existing or new methodologies. This will not preclude any specific topic, but preference will be given to research work that establishes some connection with the methodological aspects or to successful applications built upon some methodology.

Topics of Interest

General topics of interest include, but are not limited to:
- Agent Theories, Architectures and Languages
- Cognitive Models, including Emotions and Philosophies
- Formal Methods for Modelling Agents and MAS
- Cooperation, Coordination and Teamwork
- Automated Negotiation and Computational Argumentation
- Multi-Agent Evolution, Adaptation and Learning
- Trust, Reliability and Reputation in MAS
- Communication: Languages, Semantics, Protocols and Conversations
- Artificial Social Systems
- Agent-Based Applications
- Multi-Agent Simulation and Modelling
- Norms and Institutions in MAS
- Ethical and Legal issues raised by Agents and MAS
- Privacy, Safety and Security
- Social and Organizational Structure
- Formal Methods for Modelling Agent-Based Systems
- Scalability and Performance of MAS
- Modelling the Dynamics of MAS
- Emergent Behaviour from MAS
- Industrial and Commercial Applications
- Agent-based Systems Interoperability

Paper submission

Submissions must be original and not published elsewhere. Papers should not exceed twelve (12) pages in length and must adhere to the formatting instructions of the conference. Each submission will be peer reviewed by at least three members of the Programme Committee. The reviewing process is double blind, so authors should remove names and affiliations from the submitted papers, and must take reasonable care to assure anonymity during the review process. References to own work may be included in the paper, as long as referred to in the third person. The top accepted papers will appear in the proceedings published by Springer in the LNAI series. The remaining accepted papers will be published in the local proceedings.

Organizing Committee

Paulo Trigo, Instituto Superior de Engenharia de Lisboa, Lisboa, Portugal
António Pereira, Faculdade de Engenharia, Universidade do Porto, Portugal
Daniel Castro Silva, Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia, Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal
Manuel Filipe Santos, Universidade do Minho

Steering Committee

Eugénio Oliveira, Universidade do Porto, Portugal
Helder Coelho, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
João Balsa, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
Luís Reis, Universidade do Minho, Portugal

Program Committee

Alberto Fernández, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain
Alejandro Guerra-Hernández, Universidad Veracruzana, México
Amal El Fallah, Université Paris VI, France
Amílcar Cardoso, Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal
Ana Paula Rocha, Universidade do Porto, Portugal
Anders Jonsson, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain
Andrea Omicini, Università di Bologna, Italy
António Castro, TAP Air Portugal LIACC, Portugal
António Rocha Costa, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Carlos Martinho, Instituto Superior Técnico, Portugal
César Analide, Universidade do Minho, Portugal
Cristiano Castelfranchi, ISTC-CNR, Italy
Diana Adamatti, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande, Brazil
Fernando Lopes, LNEG, Portugal
Frank Dignum, Universiteit Utrecht, The Netherlands
Graçaliz Dimuro, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande, Brazil
Henrique Lopes Cardoso, Universidade do Porto, Portugal
Javier Bajo Pérez, Universidad Pontificia de Salamanca, Spain
Javier Carbó, Universidad Carlos III Madrid, Spain
Joana Urbano, Instituto Superior Miguel Torga, Portugal
João Leite, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
John-Jules Meyer, Universiteit Utrecht, The Netherlands
Jomi Hübner, Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina, Brazil
Jordan Srour, The American University of Beirut, Lebanon
Jordi Sabater-Mir, IIIA-CSIC, Spain
Jörg Müller, TU Clausthal Institut für Informatik, Germany
Juan Antonio Rodriguez, IIIA-CSIC, Spain
Juan Burgillo, Universidade de Vigo, Spain
Laurent Vercouter, École Nationale Supérieure des Mines de Saint-Étienne, France
Luís Antunes, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
Luís Botelho, ISCTE, Portugal
Luís Macedo, Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal
Luís Correia, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
Luís Moniz, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
Marija Slavkovik, University of Liverpool, UK
Matt Webster, University of Liverpool, UK
Matteo Vasirani, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain
Neil Yorke-Smith, American University of Beirut, Lebanon
Nicoletta Fornara, Università della Svizzera Italiana (University of Lugano), Switzerland
Nuno Lau, Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal
Olivier Boissier, École Nationale Supérieure des Mines de Saint-Étienne, France
Paolo Torroni, Università di Bologna, Italy
Paulo Novais, Universidade do Minho, Portugal
Paulo Urbano, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
Pedro Abreu, Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal
Pedro Mariano, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
Penousal Machado, Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal
Reyhan Aydogan, Bogazici University, Turkey
Rosaldo Rossetti, Universidade do Porto, Portugal
Santiago Ontañón Villar, IIIA-CSIC, Spain
Virginia Dignum, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
Wamberto Vasconcelos, University of Aberdeen, UK
Wojtek Jamroga, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Yves Demazeau, Laboratoire d’Informatique de Grenoble, France


Paulo Trigo
Área Departamental de Engenharia de Electrónica e Telecomunicações e de Computadores,
Instituto Superior de Engenharia de Lisboa
Rua Conselheiro Emídio Navarro, 1
1959-007 Lisboa, Portugal
Phone: ( 351) 91 8872938
Fax: ( 351) 218 317 114

António Pereira
Departamento de Engenharia Informática, Faculdade de Engenharia, Universidade do Porto
Rua Dr. Roberto Frias, s/n
4200-465 Porto, Portugal
Phone: ( 351) 96 4171015
Fax: ( 351) 225 081 443

Leave a Reply