ALEA – Artificial Life and Evolutionary Algorithms

ALEA’13 is specifically dedicated to both the theory and the application of Artificial Life (ALife) and Evolutionary Algorithms (EA). This is a young and fast growing interdisciplinary research field, yet already well established and sufficiently mature to solve an ever-growing number of difficult optimization problems in various industrial, economic and scientific domains, that conventional approaches are not able to address. ALEA has been a track of the biennial international EPIA conferences since 2003, aiming to bring together researchers and practitioners from different backgrounds and domains, and providing a pleasant venue for the fruitful discussion of current developments and applications.

Topics of Interest

ALEA invites contributions in all aspects related to Artificial Life and Evolutionary algorithms, ranging from theoretical work to innovative applications. General topics of interest include, but are not limited to:
- Artificial Chemistries
- Artificial Immune Systems
- Classifier Systems
- Complex Networks
- Emergent Behaviors
- Evolution and Learning Dynamics
- Evolutionary Algorithms
- Evolutionary Optimization
- Evolutionary Robotics
- Genetic Programming
- Hybrid Approaches
- Hyper-heuristics
- Multi-objective Optimization
- Origins of Life
- Parallel Evolutionary Algorithms
- Self-organizing Systems
- Swarm Intelligence

Paper submission

Submissions must be original and not published elsewhere. Papers should not exceed twelve (12) pages in length and must adhere to the formatting instructions of the conference. Each submission will be peer reviewed by at least three members of the Programme Committee. The reviewing process is double blind, so authors should remove names and affiliations from the submitted papers, and must take reasonable care to assure anonymity during the review process. References to own work may be included in the paper, as long as referred to in the third person. The top accepted papers will appear in the proceedings published by Springer in the LNAI series. The remaining accepted papers will be published in the local proceedings.

Organizing Committee

Leonardo Vanneschi, ISEGI, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
Sara Silva, INESC-ID Lisboa, Portugal
Francisco Baptista Pereira, Instituto Superior de Engenharia de Coimbra, Portugal

Program Committee

Stefania Bandini, University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy
Wolfgang Banzhaf, Dept. of Computer Science, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada
Helio J.C. Barbosa, Laboratório Nacional de Computação Científica, Brazil
Daniela Besozzi, University of Milano, Italy
Christian Blum, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain
Juergen Branke, Warwick Business School, UK
Stefano Cagnoni, University of Parma, Italy
Philippe Caillou, LRI, University of Paris Sud 11, France
Mauro Castelli, New University of Lisbon (ISEGI-UNL), Portugal
Luís Correia, University of Lisbon, Portugal
Ernesto Costa, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Carlos Cotta, Universidad de Málaga, Spain
Ivanoe De Falco, ICAR – CNR, Italy
Antonio Della Cioppa, University of Salerno, Italy
Anikó Ekárt, Aston University, UK
Anna I. Esparcia-Alcázar, S2 Grupo & Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain
Carlos M. Fernandes, University of Granada, Spain
James A. Foster, University of Idaho, USA
António Gaspar-Cunha, Institute for Polymers and Composites /I3N, University of Minho, Portugal
Carlos Gershenson, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico
Mario Giacobini, University of Torino, Italy
Jin-Kao Hao, Université Angers, France
Inman Harvey, Evolutionary and Adaptive Systems Group, University of Sussex, UK
William B. Langdon, University of Essex, UK
Arnaud Liefooghe, Université Lille 1, France
Fernando Lobo, University of Algarve, Portugal
Penousal Machado, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Ana Madureira, Instituto Superior de Engenharia do Porto, Portugal
Luca Manzoni, University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy
Pedro Mariano, University of Lisbon, Portugal
Rui Mendes, CCTC – University of Minho, Portugal
Telmo Menezes, CNRS, Paris, France
Juan Julián Merelo Guervós, University of Granada, Spain
Alberto Moraglio, University of Kent, UK
Shin Morishita, University of Yokohama, Japan
Una-May O’Reilly, MIT, USA
Luís Paquete, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Agostinho Rosa, Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal
Marc Schoenauer, INRIA, France
Roberto Serra, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy
Anabela Simões, Polytechnic Institute of Coimbra, Portugal
Thomas Stuetzle, Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB), Belgium
Ricardo H. C. Takahashi, Dep. of Mathematics – Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Brazil
Leonardo Trujillo Reyes, Instituto Tecnológico de Tijuana, Mexico

Leave a Reply